Working Group: Aerosol Technology

WG Chair: Adam Boies

Aerosol technology includes the research and development fields ranging from conventional areas such as emission control, filtration and powder technology, to more recent ones such as advances in functional nanomaterials and Industry4.0 systems. Specific sub-topics could be but are not limited to: Material synthesis and structuring via aerosol/gas phase processes. Functional nanomaterials, e.g. coating and surface modification of nanoparticles. Nanostructured materials from aerosols including also films and coatings by aerosol deposition. Scaling-up: from lab-scale to industrial production via aerosol processing. Filtration and gas cleaning technologies. Electrical Phenomena. Charging and electrical effects. Electrosprays. Industrial and high temperature aerosols. Combustion aerosols and related emission control e.g. in the transport and energy sector.

Subtopics

Synthesis and structuring of functional nanoparticles by flame-based processes 

  • Synthesis, structuring and applications of functional nanoparticles
  • Nanoparticle deposition and thin film formation
  • Coating and surface modification of nanoparticles
  • Process analysis and monitoring
  • Electric effects including electrosprays and electric discharges
  • Transportation aerosol emissions and control technologies
  • High temperature aerosols and biomass combustion
  • Filtration for functional materials, combustion and industrial aerosols 
WG Chairs Contacts
Ismael Ortega ismael.ortega@onera.fr
Georgios Sotiriou georgios.sotiriou@ki.se
Luewton Lemos F. Agostinho luewton.agostinho@hvhl.nl
Michal Vojtisek-Lom michal.vojtisek@fs.cvut.cz
Anne Maisser a.maisser@cyi.ac.cy
Adam Boies (chair) a.boies@eng.cam.ac.uk